South Carolina Business Review

Mon-Fri, 7:51 am

The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. 

S.C. Business Review Archive 1 (June 2011- September 2014)

S.C. Business Review Archive 2 (PDF; February 2003 - May  2011)

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina Public Radio.

Richard Bogan
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

According to a recent article in the Washington Post, the United States is suffering from a severe shortage of long-haul truck drivers.  A condition that analysts say could disrupt our current prosperous economy.  What is the current state of South Carolina’s trucking industry?

Mike Switzer interviews Richard Bogan, a senior vice president with Southeastern Freight Lines in Lexington, SC.

Ethics in the Media

Aug 29, 2018
Reba Campbell
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

With the ever-evolving media landscape these days, ethical issues have come to the forefront.  And we just learned that September is observed as “Ethics Month” by the Public Relations Society of America.  So we thought now would be a good time to take a look at this issue.

Mike Switzer interviews Reba Campbell, president of the SC chapter of the PRSA in Columbia, SC.

Timberrrrrrrr!

Aug 28, 2018

You may not know this but timber is our state’s largest cash crop.  And there are trends in the timber industry that our next guest says may soon shake up that market.

Mike Switzer interviews Harris Chewning, a chartered financial analyst with American Timberlands Company in Pawleys Island, SC, and member of the South Carolina Chapter of the CFA Society.

John Warner
Concepts to Companies

A weekly update of the entrepreneurial activity in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner, co-founder of Accessible Diagnostics and the Swampfox Facebook page, based in Greenville, S.C.

Matt Brown
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

According to the most recent SportsBusiness survey, the University of South Carolina’s masters degree program in Sport and Entertainment Management is doing a pretty good job in preparing its graduates for jobs in that industry.

According to Giving USA 2018: The Annual Report on Philanthropy for the Year 2017, a booming stock market and strong economy have caused a surge in charitable giving in this country.  Could this also be the result of donors getting their charitable contributions in before changes in the tax law took effect in January that are now restricting the tax deductibility of those contributions?

Preparing your business for investment and learning how to pitch to investors is a skill that our next guest says every entrepreneur must master.  Whether your company is in the concept stage or up and running and growing, he says learning how to convey your business message to potential investors is critically important.

Mike Switzer interviews Matt Dunbar, managing director of VentureSouth in Greenville, SC.

Sharing Family Assets

Aug 21, 2018
Eddi Kramer
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

Young children are often reminded by their parents of the importance of sharing, especially with their brothers and sisters.  Our next guest though, says that adult siblings can find sharing a little more difficult, when there’s a beach house or some other property involved.  Not to mention if there are in-laws, nieces and nephews involved, as well.  What should the rules be for sharing family assets?

Mike Switzer interviews Eddie Kramer, a certified financial planner with Abacus Planning Group in Columbia, SC.

John Warner
Concepts to Companies

A weekly update of the entrepreneurial activity in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner is co-founder of Concepts to Companies and founder and CEO of Swampfox, an entrepreneur-centric social media company, based in Greenville, S.C.

If you are a small business owner and have always wanted to work with NASA, you may want to know that they are going to be participating in a business expo (and a STEM expo for students) on August 29th in Charleston, SC.

Mike Switzer interviews Kevin Limehouse with the Charleston County governmentNASA Business Expo and Stem Expo in Charleston, SC.

Mike Pope
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

According to the Environmental Protection Agency, Americans recycle around 66 million tons of plastic bottles, aluminum cans, and scrap metal, etc. each year.  But then China threw a kink into things when they announced last summer that they would no longer accept "foreign garbage" which includes recyclables.  The Solid Waste Association of North America says these restrictions have disrupted recycling programs throughout the United States, and we were wondering how our state is being affected.

Sarah Park
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

You may have heard a recent program of ours that highlighted the difficulties experienced by people with disabilities in finding satisfying jobs.  The youth in our state can find this challenge even more daunting because in most cases, they have never had any job experience of any kind.  Our next guest, however, is working with the local business community to alleviate that situation.

Most people know that most investing involves some risk.  But our next guest says that he sees some investors going to great lengths to avoid risk at all costs.

Mike Switzer interviews Jeff Wildes, a certified financial planner in Georgetown, SC.

John Warner
Concepts to Companies

A weekly update of the entrepreneurial activity in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner, co-founder of Accessible Diagnostics and the Swampfox Facebook page, based in Greenville, S.C.

Scott Garvin
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

Our state’s capital city has been experiencing something of a renaissance lately as its downtown area continues to play catch-up with Charleston and Greenville.  Our next guest has been right in the middle of this activity.

Mike Switzer interviews Scott Garvin, president of Garvin Design Group in Columbia, SC.

As we move further into the 21st century, there are still some industries that struggle to attract a diverse population of employees.  One that may not surprise you is the golf business.  And that’s why our next guest’s organization was established and whose work is making an impact in the Carolinas.

In case you missed it, the TV and film production industry in our state recently received a boost when Governor McMaster signed into law a proviso that reinstates wage and supplier rebates.  Our next guest has been lobbying for this for a while and says it puts us on a little more level playing field with our neighboring states.

Mike Switzer interviews Linda Lee, president of the Carolina Film Alliance in Charleston, South Carolina.

Our state’s economy continues to report good numbers and most economists predict more of the same to come.  However, there are some issues out there that our next guest says we should all be keeping an eye on.

Mike Switzer interviews Frank Hefner, director of the Office of Economic Analysis at the College of Charleston.

Andy Owens
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

An update of the news, events and issues that are trending right now across South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews Andy Owens, managing editor of SCBizNews, the company that publishes the Columbia Regional Business ReportCharleston Regional Business JournalGSA Business and SCBizNews magazine.

 

Podcasts continue to gain ground as a popular form of entertainment and information.  Take ours, for example. But ours is also tied to an actual over-the-air radio show. Our next guest says there’s a lot more involved in starting one from scratch that only airs over the Internet.

Mike Switzer interviews Jack Hitt, a South Carolina native and co-founder of the 2017 Peabody-award-winning podcast “Uncivil”, based in Brooklyn, NY.

If you are a regular listener of this show, you have heard many of our state’s entrepreneurial stories.  But I can’t remember one where a product went from an idea to reality as fast as the one created by our next guest.

Mike Switzer interviews Joe Ortiz, founder of Joe Cup, based in Blythewood, SC.

As our population continues to age, the members of this aging population are more and more demanding to finish living out their lives at home rather than in an institution.  Two years ago, our next guest’s nonprofit organization noticed this trend and decided to respond with an entrepreneurial venture.

Mike Switzer interviews Tomas Mendez is with BeWell@Home, a program of the Lutheran Homes of South Carolina.

Abby Mason
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

If you’ve been perusing the new tax law, you may have noticed that individual taxpayers will still be allowed to deduct charitable contributions, however our next guest says that receiving a tax benefit for those charitable contributions may become more difficult.

Mike Switzer interviews Abby Mason, a certified financial planner with Abacus Planning Group in Columbia, SC.

John Warner
Concepts to Companies

An update of the news, issues, and events facing the entrepreneurial community in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner is co-founder of Accessible Diagnostics and the Swampfox Facebook page, based in Greenville, S.C.

John Fellows
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

Not too long ago, our capital city received a grant from the Knight Foundation to design a program that would encourage people to gather and linger on the State House grounds.  The idea being that thriving public spaces are good not just for wholesome communities but for the local economy, as well.  It has been implemented now for several weeks and our next guest has a report on results so far.

Mike Switzer interview John Fellows, planning administrator for the City of Columbia, SC.

The social media world is fast evolving as Facebook and others work on new privacy policies and their associated algorithms.  There are even new forms of social networks appearing that want to turn control of these types of platforms over to the users and away from the “powers that be”.  Our next guest sees that trend as a business opportunity.

Mike Switzer interviews Rosemary O’Neill, co-founder of Narrative, based in Mt. Pleasant, SC.

Got a Book Idea?

Jul 25, 2018

If you are an aspiring author, in today’s world you have many more options for publishing than were available 20 years ago.  But our next guest says that doesn’t make it any easier.

Mike Switzer interviews Dr. Robert Saul, medical director of General Pediatrics at the Children’s Hospital in the Greenville Health System in Greenville, SC and author of My Children's Children:
Raising Young Citizens in the Age of Columbine
.

Unless you have or had a student loan, you may not have heard of the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program which began in 2007 with a simple idea: provide debt relief to borrowers in critical but often low-paying careers after they make 10 years of timely student loan repayments. Law enforcement employees and public school teachers are examples of those who would be eligible.  But in the spring 2017, many individuals who chose those types of careers learned that their federal student loans may not qualify for this relief after all.

John Warner
Concepts to Companies

A weekly update of the entrepreneurial activity in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner is co-founder of Concepts to Companies and founder and CEO of Swampfox, an entrepreneur-centric social media company, based in Greenville, S.C.

Kevin Shwedo
Mike Switzer/SC Public Radio

Even with the growth and popularity of teleconferencing, many businesses still find face-to-face meetings and in-person conferences fruitful and therefore, imperative to their success.  And many of these meetings require boarding an airplane.  Which is why our next guest wants you to know about the looming deadline for Real ID, an upcoming federal requirement for air travel.

Pages