Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Sonata form, Pt 2

"Sonata” and “sonata form” are not the same thing, and that—in any kind of piece, not just sonatas—a  movement composed in sonata form consists of three primary sections: an exposition, a development, and a recapitulation.

It’s in the exposition that the principal musical elements of the movement are presented—the themes, rhythmic patterns, and harmonic patterns. In the development, the themes and other elements are put through a process of modification—reworked and rearranged, and sometimes even chopped up into parts. Following the development comes the recapitulation, which is a restatement of the music of the exposition—sometimes a literal restatement, sometimes one with a few new twists—and often the recapitulation ends with a coda, a musical extension that brings the movement to a close in a convincing manner. Sonata form: exposition, development, and recapitulation.

A Minute with Miles is a production of South Carolina Public Radio, made possible by the J.M. Smith Corporation.

Stay Connected
Miles Hoffman is the founder and violist of the American Chamber Players, with whom he regularly tours the United States, and the Virginia I. Norman Distinguished Visiting Professor of Chamber Music at the Schwob School of Music, in Columbus, Georgia. He has appeared as viola soloist with orchestras across the country, and his solo performances on YouTube have received well over 700,000 views.