South Carolina Business Review

Mon-Fri, 7:51 am

The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. 

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina Public Radio.

Robot Assistance or Robot Invasion?

Oct 8, 2014

If you have an older parent living on their own, would you feel more comfortable if you had a way to monitor them and their living conditions from afar?  Our next guest says she hopes to start testing just such a system soon by installing robot monitors in assisted living centers in the Midlands of South Carolina. Mike Switzer interviews Dr. Jenay Beer, a computer science and social work professor at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.Assistive Robotics and Tech Lab links: Artlab, SmartHome

What is a Register Investment Advisor?

Oct 7, 2014

These days, investors have quite a variety of firms to choose from to help them manage their money.  Financial planning firms, banks, mutual fund companies, insurance companies, trust companies, investment management firms...it can sometimes be difficult to determine just who to choose.

Recent economic statistics, such as the unemployment rate and housing starts, seem to be moving in the wrong direction.  Has the recovery finally run out of steam? Mike Switzer interviews Joey von Nessen a research economist with the University of South Carolina's Moore School of Business, and their Division of Research, which stays busy tracking and calculating our state's economic statistics.

High School Art Students Prepped for the Real World

Oct 2, 2014

You often hear us talk about the importance of STEM education in our state's schools and how it relates to what's happening in today's business world.  But recently the arts have been added to that equation of science, technology, engineering, and math, creating a new moniker, known as STEAM.  Our next guest believes that without the arts, a child's career stem may not bloom to it's full potential.

Mike Switzer interviews Former First Lady of S.C., Rachel Hodges, Chair of the Board for the Governor's School for the Arts Foundation.

Plan For Next Year's Tax Bill Now

Sep 30, 2014

The end of the year will be here before you know it and our next guest says that that means you probably should start thinking about tax planning.  Are there things you could do now to minimize your tax bite in the spring?

SC Business Update From Andy Owens

Sep 29, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews Andy Owens, managing editor of SCBizNews, the company that publishes the Columbia Regional Business Report, Charleston Regional Business Journal, GSA Business and SCBizNews magazine.

Demand for Skilled Employees Remains High

Sep 25, 2014

  Recently on this program, we have discussed the fact that there are thousands of jobs available in our state that continue to go unfilled because there aren't enough people here with the necessary skills and training.  We have identified programs at South Carolina's technical college system that are working to address this problem and today we are going to speak with the private side of that equation.  Our next guest has been a past South Carolina Ambassador for Economic Development, named a finalist for 2013 and 2014 South Carolina Human Resources Professional of the Year, and has spoken

Upstate Ad Agency Succeeds with Unique Business Model

Sep 24, 2014

After selling local radio advertising in the 80's and 90's, our next guest became frustrated with the structure of the traditional ad agencies he worked with every day.  So in 1993, he launched his own agency with a new model that has brought him and his employees much success.  In 2014, the company was named one of South Carolina’s Best Places to Work, and has been ranked among the state’s

   best performing and fastest growing companies for three years in a row.

What Does My Last Will and Testament Really Control?

Sep 23, 2014

  You would probably agree that estate planning is not one of your favorite topics but our next guest says that understanding how your assets are owned and how they will transfer is key to making sure your wishes are fulfilled after your death.

Mike Switzer interviews Bethany Griffith, a certified financial planner with Abacus Planning Group in Columbia. 

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Sep 22, 2014

  A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

High Court Providing Protection from Patent Trolls

Sep 19, 2014

  There has been a lot of talk and concern in recent years about “patent trolls” – entities that own patents and threaten infringement lawsuits to obtain license fees, but which do not actually make products using the patents they own.  And although federal legislation has been introduced to address this problem, Congress has not been able to agree on the details.  Recently however, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously decided a handful of patent cases that could have a substantial impact on patent trolls without that legislation.

  You may have heard about Greenville's 18-mile bike trail, known as the Swamp Rabbit Trail that has become an economic engine for the area, connecting downtown Greenville with Furman University and the town of Travelers Rest.  This former railway is part of a nationwide trend known as rails-to-trails and it's paving a path for many new businesses along the way.  Our next guest recently opened one of the newest of these businesses.

Mike Switzer interviews Wendy Lyman, founder of the Swamp Rabbit Inn in Greenville.

  A recent retirement readiness report showed that one third of the people between the ages of 55 and 64, haven't saved anything for retirement.  Our next guest says that though some of these people may feel their retirement situation is hopeless, there are many actions they can take to get themselves back on track.

Mike Switzer interviews Roy Janse, a certified financial planner with Dehollander and Janse Financial in Greenville, SC.

SC Business Update from John "Swampfox" Warner

Sep 15, 2014

  A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Our next guest says there are thousands of job openings right now across our state and thousands of people looking for work, yet most of those jobs continue to go unfilled due to the lack of training most of these jobs require.

Mike Swiitzer interviews Sonny White, president of Midlands Technical College in Columbia.

Pages