© 2024 South Carolina Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

disaster declaration

  • Three coastal counties in South Carolina have been declared disaster areas from damage from this fall's Hurricane Ian, allowing people to get federal money for repairs and assistance. President Joe Biden approved the disaster declaration this week for Charleston, Georgetown and Horry counties after a request from Gov. Henry McMaster.
  • Gov. Henry McMaster has asked President Joe Biden to authorize a disaster declaration to help with Hurricane Ian recovery efforts in South Carolina. McMaster's office said state and federal assessments found that 17 homes were destroyed, 232 homes had major damage and 82 had minor damage because of the storm which came ashore near Georgetown on Sept. 30. If the White House grants the request, the declaration would provide direct financial aid to residents in Charleston, Georgetown and Horry counties. And, state and local government agencies and some non-profits in Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper and Williamsburg counties would qualify for reimbursement of some storm-related costs through the Public Assistance Program.