South Carolina Business Review

Mon-Fri, 7:51 am

The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. 

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina Public Radio.

In 2009, with the great recession setting in and business drying up, our next guest, a real estate developer at the time, started looking for a new way to utilize his sales talents.  Soon after, he visited his alma mater, Florida State University, where he kept hearing from students about how taxis were expensive, parking in town was non-existent and DUIs scared everybody.  So he scribbled on a cocktail napkin: “Green Operated Transportation Carrying Humanity Around”.  And his new company was born.  No, it's not Uber or Lyft.

Taking Capitalism to the Next Level

Oct 22, 2014

There's a new international movement in the business community that is seeking to inspire business owners to elevate not only their profits but humanity as well.  Our next guest recently received approval to launch a chapter of this non-profit organization in the LowCountry.

Mike Switzer interviews Barry Patterson, president of the Charleston chapter of Conscious Capitalism.

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Oct 20, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.Events: Internet of Things

Most of you are probably familiar with the several forms a business can take: sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company (LLC) and a corporation, further subdivided as a traditional C-corp or S-corp.  But our next guest has formed a relatively new type of corporation, the B-corp. which focuses not only on profits but “benefits” to the community or environment.

Mike Switzer interviews Deb Stirling, chief financial officer for Infinite Habitat, based in Columbia, SC.

Homelessness continues to be a concern to cities and businesses across South Carolina.  Our next guest runs the state's largest homeless shelter and service provider, which recently re-branded itself to reflect what it really provides its clients: a chance to turn their lives around. Mike Switzer interviews Stacy Denaux, CEO of One-Eighty Place in Charleston.

1-Year MBA Program Succeeding in Charleston

Oct 16, 2014

We've been hearing some talk lately that one of our state's newest MBA programs has apparently hit its stride with students and employers alike.  So we thought we'd look into it. Mike Switzer interviews Jim Kindley, director of the College of Charleston's MBA program, now in it's fifth year.

Human fertility clinics have a lot more tools in their trade these days that are not only resulting in happier customers, but a healthier bottom line as well. Mike Switzer interviews Dr. Michael Slowey, a reproductive endocrinologist with Coastal Fertility Specialists in Mt. Pleasant.

Have You Run Your “Fiscal Fire Drill”?

Oct 14, 2014

In many households, one person manages the family finances.  But if something happens to that fiscally knowledgeable family member, does anyone else know how to access the financial information?  Our next guest says that whether you are single or part of a family, you need to run what she calls a "FISCAL Fire Drill". Mike Switzer interviews Catherine Latto, a certified financial planner with Latto and Associates in Charleston. 

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Oct 13, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Do Your Salespeople Have the Right Attitude?

Oct 10, 2014

There are a lot of factors that can affect the overall performance of a business, but one thing is for sure: If you don't have sales, you don't have a business. Mike Switzer interviews Bill McCrary, founder and CEO of Sandler Training South Carolina, a franchisee of Sandler Training, the national organization recently named the number one training company in America by Entrepreneur Magazine.

Does Your Company Incentive Plan Deliver Results?

Oct 9, 2014

It's fairly standard practice these days for companies of all sizes to offer their employees performance incentives as part of their compensation.  Our next guest however, says he sees companies across our state and the country wasting millions of dollars on incentive plans and bonus systems that don't deliver the desired results. Mike Switzer interviews John Carroll, president of Unlimited Performance based in Mt. Pleasant, SC.

Robot Assistance or Robot Invasion?

Oct 8, 2014

If you have an older parent living on their own, would you feel more comfortable if you had a way to monitor them and their living conditions from afar?  Our next guest says she hopes to start testing just such a system soon by installing robot monitors in assisted living centers in the Midlands of South Carolina. Mike Switzer interviews Dr. Jenay Beer, a computer science and social work professor at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.Assistive Robotics and Tech Lab links: Artlab, SmartHome

What is a Register Investment Advisor?

Oct 7, 2014

These days, investors have quite a variety of firms to choose from to help them manage their money.  Financial planning firms, banks, mutual fund companies, insurance companies, trust companies, investment management firms...it can sometimes be difficult to determine just who to choose.

Recent economic statistics, such as the unemployment rate and housing starts, seem to be moving in the wrong direction.  Has the recovery finally run out of steam? Mike Switzer interviews Joey von Nessen a research economist with the University of South Carolina's Moore School of Business, and their Division of Research, which stays busy tracking and calculating our state's economic statistics.

High School Art Students Prepped for the Real World

Oct 2, 2014

You often hear us talk about the importance of STEM education in our state's schools and how it relates to what's happening in today's business world.  But recently the arts have been added to that equation of science, technology, engineering, and math, creating a new moniker, known as STEAM.  Our next guest believes that without the arts, a child's career stem may not bloom to it's full potential.

Mike Switzer interviews Former First Lady of S.C., Rachel Hodges, Chair of the Board for the Governor's School for the Arts Foundation.

Plan For Next Year's Tax Bill Now

Sep 30, 2014

The end of the year will be here before you know it and our next guest says that that means you probably should start thinking about tax planning.  Are there things you could do now to minimize your tax bite in the spring?

SC Business Update From Andy Owens

Sep 29, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews Andy Owens, managing editor of SCBizNews, the company that publishes the Columbia Regional Business Report, Charleston Regional Business Journal, GSA Business and SCBizNews magazine.

Demand for Skilled Employees Remains High

Sep 25, 2014

  Recently on this program, we have discussed the fact that there are thousands of jobs available in our state that continue to go unfilled because there aren't enough people here with the necessary skills and training.  We have identified programs at South Carolina's technical college system that are working to address this problem and today we are going to speak with the private side of that equation.  Our next guest has been a past South Carolina Ambassador for Economic Development, named a finalist for 2013 and 2014 South Carolina Human Resources Professional of the Year, and has spoken

Upstate Ad Agency Succeeds with Unique Business Model

Sep 24, 2014

After selling local radio advertising in the 80's and 90's, our next guest became frustrated with the structure of the traditional ad agencies he worked with every day.  So in 1993, he launched his own agency with a new model that has brought him and his employees much success.  In 2014, the company was named one of South Carolina’s Best Places to Work, and has been ranked among the state’s

   best performing and fastest growing companies for three years in a row.

What Does My Last Will and Testament Really Control?

Sep 23, 2014

  You would probably agree that estate planning is not one of your favorite topics but our next guest says that understanding how your assets are owned and how they will transfer is key to making sure your wishes are fulfilled after your death.

Mike Switzer interviews Bethany Griffith, a certified financial planner with Abacus Planning Group in Columbia. 

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Sep 22, 2014

  A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

High Court Providing Protection from Patent Trolls

Sep 19, 2014

  There has been a lot of talk and concern in recent years about “patent trolls” – entities that own patents and threaten infringement lawsuits to obtain license fees, but which do not actually make products using the patents they own.  And although federal legislation has been introduced to address this problem, Congress has not been able to agree on the details.  Recently however, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously decided a handful of patent cases that could have a substantial impact on patent trolls without that legislation.

  You may have heard about Greenville's 18-mile bike trail, known as the Swamp Rabbit Trail that has become an economic engine for the area, connecting downtown Greenville with Furman University and the town of Travelers Rest.  This former railway is part of a nationwide trend known as rails-to-trails and it's paving a path for many new businesses along the way.  Our next guest recently opened one of the newest of these businesses.

Mike Switzer interviews Wendy Lyman, founder of the Swamp Rabbit Inn in Greenville.

  A recent retirement readiness report showed that one third of the people between the ages of 55 and 64, haven't saved anything for retirement.  Our next guest says that though some of these people may feel their retirement situation is hopeless, there are many actions they can take to get themselves back on track.

Mike Switzer interviews Roy Janse, a certified financial planner with Dehollander and Janse Financial in Greenville, SC.

SC Business Update from John "Swampfox" Warner

Sep 15, 2014

  A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Our next guest says there are thousands of job openings right now across our state and thousands of people looking for work, yet most of those jobs continue to go unfilled due to the lack of training most of these jobs require.

Mike Swiitzer interviews Sonny White, president of Midlands Technical College in Columbia.

Our next guest has been reporting rosy statistics for South Carolina's economy for some time now on this show.  But recently, our regular guest, John "Swampfox" Warner, pointed out that while the state has been making positive jobs announcements, it doesn't announce when jobs are lost, such as Sealed Air's recent move to North Carolina.  The Swampfox also pointed out that our state's GDP growth is actually lagging behind that of Georgia and North Carolina.

 

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Trade Secrets Are Key to Success

Aug 29, 2014

 

Successful businesses not only use patents but also trade secrets to protect their profits.  However, our next guest says many companies do not know how to incorporate trade secret protection into their business practices and that businesses of all sizes can utilize this strategy.

Mike Switzer interviews Connie Jones, an intellectual property attorney with Altus IP in Greenville, SC.

 

Our next guest believes his University start-up company will soon be driving vans around Columbia cool-cleaning home carpets using carbon dioxide, a method he also believes will dramatically reduce allergens in the home.

Mike Switzer interviews Mike Matthews, an engineering professor at the University of South Carolina and the chief technology officer for CarboNix.

Pages