Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

$66 million to be allocated for electric buses in SC

South Carolina receiving $66 million for electric school buses
Thomas -
South Carolina receiving $66 million for electric school buses

One Midlands school district will receive multiple electric buses as part of the Biden administration’s Investing in America Agenda.

The Investing in America platform is $442.6 billion in public infrastructure and clean energy investments that will go towards roads, bridges, public transit, EV charging, electric buses, and more.

In part, $65.9 million from the federal government has been allocated for 168 electric school buses, with 20 of those arriving for the Orangeburg County School District (OCSD) at the start of the 2024-2025 school year.

"Securing 20 new electric school buses through an EPA grant marks a significant advancement for Orangeburg County School District. With our students traveling 1.3 million miles annually, these buses ensure a safer, cleaner journey, reducing harmful emissions and aligning with our commitment to a healthy learning environment,” said Dr. Shawn D. Foster, OCSD Superintendent.

According to the EPA website, the Clean School Bus (CSB) program, developed from the bipartisan infrastructure law, formally called the “Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act,” that Biden signed in 2021 will provide $5 billion over five years, starting in 2022 with a conclusion in 2026.

South Carolina’s allotment is the third highest among all states, just behind California and New York.

“This initiative backs our dedication to sustainable practices and the well-being of our students and staff, setting a positive example for our community. We are focused on enhancing every aspect of our students' educational experience,” added Dr. Foster.

Communication officials with Anderson County School District 3 said a new parking lot has been built and the infrastructure is ready to house the four buses the district was promised.

One of the goals of the CSB is to reduce carbon mission to reduce overall pollution.

“Clean School Bus grants will help selectees in the Southeast region purchase clean school buses that will accelerate the transition to zero-emission vehicles and produce cleaner air in and around schools and communities,” said Acting EPA Region 4 Administrator Jeaneanne Gettle.

The following districts will receive money for electric buses and charging stations:

  • Abbeville
  • Anderson 3
  • Anderson 5
  • Barnwell 45
  • Chester
  • Dorchester 4
  • Fairfield
  • Georgetown
  • Hampton
  • Jasper
  • Laurens 56
  • Marion 10
  • McCormick
  • Orangeburg
  • Richland 1
  • Sumter
Marcus Flowers is an award-winning content producer who specializes in various topics.