© 2023 South Carolina Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Carolina Live
Carolina Live
News & Music Stations: Sun, 6-8 am; Tue, 7-9 pm

Carolina Live is a weekly program of the Carolinas' best live classical concert recordings. Presented by OrthoCarolina, the show is a co-production of WDAV 89.9 Classical Public Radio and South Carolina Public Radio. Longtime classical music announcer Lauren Rico hosts the series.

Program Web Site

Stay Connected

Mar 26 & 28

Winston-Salem Symphony: Still Points and Turning Worlds
Paul Haas: guest conductor; Awadagin Pratt, piano

Beethoven: Overture to Coriolan
Haas: Anthem – To the Shore
Montgomery: Rounds, for piano and strings
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat
Bonus - Brahms: Symphony No. 3

Guest conductor Paul Haas leads the Winston-Salem Symphony in a concert titled Still Points and Turning Worlds.  Among the terrific musical points to be made are Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture, Jessie Montgomery’s Rounds for piano and Strings, and Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5 in B-flat.  The guest soloist is the exciting pianist Awadagin Pratt, so join him and the other fine musicians for two hours of exciting music.

Apr 2 & 4  

Winston-Salem Symphony: Special Guests
Nicholas Hersh, guest conductor; Karen Ni Bhroin, assistant conductor; Steven Moeckel, violin

Sibelius: Symphony No. 7 in C Major
Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Sandresky: Gaudeamus
Elgar: Enigma Variations

The Winston-Salem Symphony once again plays host to some Special Guests in the concert we have on this program.  Guest conductor Nicholas Hersh leads the orchestra in the Symphony No. 7 in C Major by Jean Sibelius, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ beautiful The Lark Ascending and Edward Elgar’s Enigma Variations.  It’s a wonderful group of works, and yours to enjoy on Carolina Live.

Apr 9 & 11

Greenville Symphony Orchestra: Dvorak’s New World +
Greenville Symphony Chamber Orchestra: Souvenir de Florence
Edvard Tchivzhel, conductor

Wagner: Tannhauser Overture
Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 in E minor
Mendelssohn: Sonata for Strings No. 1 in C
Tchaikovsky: String Sextet in D minor – Souvenir de Florence

This Carolina Live program brings you highlights from two concerts by the marvelous Greenville Symphony.  From the first you’ll hear Wagner’s Tannhauser Overture and Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor--From the New World.  Then the Greenville Symphony Chamber Orchestra brings you Mendelssohn’s Sonata for Strings No. 1 in C and Tchaikovsky’s String Sextet in D minor – Souvenir de Florence.  Wonderful music from both fine Greenville orchestras…

Apr 16 & 18

South Carolina Philharmonic: American Originals
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Bernstein: Overture to Candide
Copland: Symphony No. 3

Beethoven and Blue Jeans (second concert)

Mozart: Overture to Cosi van tutte
Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat

Carolina Live features music from two concerts by the South Carolina Philharmonic Orchestra.  Morihiko Nakahara conducts American Originals with music by Leonard Bernstein and Aaron Copland, and he’s also at the podium with selections by Mozart and Beethoven from a concert in the Beethoven and Blue Jeans series.  Two strong musical events, and you get to sample both on this edition of Carolina Live.

Apr 23 & 25

Winston-Salem Symphony: Concerto (R)evolution
Vladimir Kulenovic, guest conductor

Price: Concert Overture No. 2
Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C
Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra
Bonus: Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No. 1

Guest conductor Vladimir Kulenovic leads the Winston-Salem Symphony in a concert titled Concerto (R)evolution.  You’ll hear the Concerto Overture No. 2 by Florence Price, Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in C with guest Julian Schwartz and Bela Bartok’s very distinctive Concerto for Orchestra.  Wonderful musical variety for you to enjoy, so make sure to join us.

Apr 30 & May 2

Greensboro Symphony:  Beethoven’s Ninth
Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Music Director
Master Chorale
Johnathan Emmons, James Keith: conductors

Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Tchaikovsky: The Year 1812 Solemn Overture
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in d minor, “Choral”

What many consider the most glorious symphony ever written is yours to enjoy on this Carolina Live program.  It’s Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 in d minor, “Choral,” and it’s performed in splendid fashion by the Greensboro Symphony and the Symphony Master Chorale.  Also on the program is Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man and Tchaikovsky’s The Year 1812 Solemn Overture.  Prepare to be dazzled by this spectacular music.

May 7 & 9

Greenville Symphony Orchestra: Mozart & More
Edvard Tchivzhel, Music Director & conductor; Johnathan Swensen, cello

Dvorak: Cello Concerto
Bach: Sarabande from Suite No. 1
Mozart: Overture to Don Giovanni
                  Symphony No. 35 – “Haffner”
Fill: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Edvard Tchivzhel leads the Greenville Symphony Orchestra in a concert titled Mozart & More.  The program features Mozart’s Overture to Don Giovanni and the Symphony No. 35 – “Haffner,” and you’ll also hear a wonderful Cello Concerto by Antonin Dvorak, with guest cellist Johnathan Swensen.  A double helping of Mozart is always wonderful, and when you add “more” it’s even better!

May 14 & 16

Greensboro Symphony: Beethoven and Sibelius
Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Music Director; Natalia Potonamarchuk, guest conductor; James Ehnes, violin

Sibelius: Symphony No. 5 in E-flat
Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D
Bach: Sonata No. 2, mvmt 3 (encore)
Bonus: Brubeck – Pas de Deux

Two wonderful compositions by two highly-esteemed composers form the foundation of this Carolina Live program.  From Jean Sibelius we’ll hear his Symphony No. 5 in E-flat, then guest violinist James Ehnes will join the orchestra for Beethoven’s inconic Violin Concerto in D.  Be sure to join us for this concert.

May 21 & 23

Winston-Salem Symphony: Wild Dreams
Carolyn Kuan, conductor; Michael Lewin, piano

Karpman: All-American
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 in A Major “Italian”
Brahms:  Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-minor

Johannes Brahms commands much of the focus in a concert by the Winston-Salem Symphony titled Wild Dreams.  The program opens with All-American by Laura Karpman, then Mendelssohn’s music takes over with his Symphony No. 4 in A Major “Italian” and the concert closes with Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-minor, with guest pianist Michael Lewin.  Guest conductor of the concert was Carolyn Kuan, and she makes the “wild dreams” ones you’ll want to share.

May 28 & 30

South Carolina Philharmonic: Scheherazade
Morihiko Nakahara, music director/conductor; James
Ackley, trumpet

Garner: Melt
Arutiunian: Trumpet Concerto
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade
Bonus: Beethoven – Sym No. 8

The South Carolina Philharmonic bases the concert on this program on Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade, but that’s not all you’ll have the pleasure of hearing.  There will be a Trumpet Concerto by Arutiunian and David Garner’s dazzling dance Melt, and we have a bonus by Beethoven, too.  Don’t miss it.