“C” is for Church of the Cross
“C” is for Church of the Cross [Bluffton]. Sited on a wooded bluff above a curve in the May River, the Episcopal Church of the Cross is a beautiful and serene lowcountry chapel. Architect Edward Brickell White who had designed Columbia’s Trinity Church and Charleston’s Huguenot Church designed the building. It was built of cypress with a shingled cypress roof. Entered through an arched door under a trefoil window and flanking shuttered lancet windows, it opened to an interior with exposed pine beams, box pews, a slave gallery, pale pink plaster walls, and rose-tinted glass windows. The handsome cruciform Gothic building capable of holding five to six hundred people, was consecrated in 1857. The Church of the Cross, a small architectural gem, was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.