Radio Website Header-Waves 6 3.0.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

"M" is for Medal of Honor Recipients

South Carolina From A to Z
SC Public Radio

"M" is for Medal of Honor Recipients. Approved by Congress in 1862, the Medal of Honor is America's highest award for military valor. The first native son to receive the award was Ernest A. Garlington of Newberry for "distinguished gallantry" at the Battle of Wounded Knee in 1892. Eight South Carolinians were awarded the medal during World War I. During World War II, five Carolinians were awarded the medal. During the Korean War, three of the four men were presented the honor posthumously. Seven Carolinians were awarded the medal during America's involvement in Vietnam, including the last medal presented during that conflict. All together, thirty native sons of South Carolina have been awarded the medal for "conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity" above that of their comrades in arms—one third of them made the supreme sacrifice.

Dr. Walter Edgar has two programs on South Carolina Public Radio: Walter Edgar's Journal, and South Carolina from A to Z. Dr. Edgar received his B.A. degree from Davidson College in 1965 and his Ph.D. from the University of South Carolina in 1969. After two years in the army (including a tour of duty in Vietnam), he returned to USC as a post-doctoral fellow of the National Archives, assigned to the Papers of Henry Laurens.