South Carolina Business Review

Mon-Fri, 7:51 am

The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. 

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina Public Radio.

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Events: Moore School Economic Outlook Conference

Homelessness continues to be a concern to cities and businesses across South Carolina.  Our next guest runs the state's largest homeless shelter and service provider, which recently re-branded itself to reflect what it really provides its clients: a chance to turn their lives around.

Mike Switzer interviews Stacy Denaux, CEO of One-Eighty Place in Charleston.

Pharmaceutical Firm Comes Home to South Carolina

Dec 4, 2014

After starting and growing a successful generic drug manufacturing company to the point of needing to expand and build new space at their headquarters in Orlando, Florida, our next guest's company decided to look homeward to South Carolina.  In June, they moved in to their new 400,000 square foot facility in Lexington County.

Mike Switzer interviews Lou Kennedy, President and co-founder of Nephron Pharmaceuticals.

You've probably heard a couple of our interviews with some of the newest breweries in our state over the past year as that industry is growing rapidly after favorable legislation was enacted in 2013.  Growth is so good in fact, that college courses in brewing and brewery operations will soon be available in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews Marilyn Fore, a senior vice president at Horry-Georgetown Technical College in Conway, SC.

Stock Market Volatility Getting to You?

Dec 2, 2014

The Dow Jones Industrial Average, the most widely watched stock market indicator, has gone up and down and up again over 1,000 points over the last few months.  And that kind of volatility bothers a lot of investors who, according to our next guest, would be better served by remaining focused on their goals and not on the day-to-day happenings in the financial markets.

Mike Switzer interviews Frank Braddock, a certified financial planner with JHS Capital Advisors in Columbia, SC.

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Dec 1, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.  Events: Moore School Economic Outlook Conference

Unique Language Learning System Helping SC Youth

Nov 28, 2014

(This is a repeat of a previous episode) Four years ago, we interviewed an Irish-American writer and educator who had developed a unique system of teaching languages, in particular Latin and Spanish.  He has since written and self-published several text books that are now being used in private schools all over South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews Finnbarr Dunphy, founder of Teach Teanga II - Languages Alive, based in Columbia, SC.

Charleston’s Dilapidated Homes Being Resuscitated

Nov 27, 2014

(This is a repeat of a previous episode) If you've been to Charleston, SC, you know the city is filled with old buildings, many of them historic and many of them in disrepair.  Over the past year, our next guest's company has acquired over 40 of these properties, renovating and restoring them mostly for home buyers, but also for investors.

Mike Switzer interviews Chris Leigh-Jones, co-owner of Luxury Simplified Group based in Charleston.

Tax Credits Fund Local Economic Growth

Nov 14, 2014

It's that time of year when you may be looking at your tax situation and as a result, looking for tax breaks.  Our next guest says he knows a good one that will also provide a direct benefit to our state's economy.

Mike Switzer interviews Bernie Mazyck is president and CEO of the South Carolina Association of Community Economic Development.

SC's I-77 Counties Collaborate for Economic Growth

Nov 12, 2014

Each year, South Carolina's General Assembly allocates some of your tax dollars to supporting our state's regional economic development organizations. This latest fiscal year saw $5 million doled out through the South Carolina Department of Commerce, $675,000 of that to a new partnership run by our next guest.

Mike Switzer interviews Rich Fletcher is the president and CEO of the I-77 Alliance, which is comprised of York, Chester, Fairfield and Richland counties.

Maximize Your Social Security Benefits

Nov 11, 2014

With so many baby boomers reaching retirement age, how to maximize one's social security benefits has become a hot topic these days.  Although it was originally not meant to be, our next guest says that Social Security is, indeed, a critical component of retirement planning.

Mike Switzer interviews Susan McCants, a certified financial planner with Abacus Planning Group in Columbia.

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Nov 10, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.  Events: Ignite!

Youth entrepreneurship in South Carolina made history recently when our next guest, an eighteen year old College of Charleston freshman from Fort Mill, SC placed runner-up in the 2014 NFTE National Youth Entrepreneurship Challenge in Silicon Valley.

Independent Colleges Re-examining Business Model

Nov 6, 2014

You may have heard about a well known small college in Upstate South Carolina that slashed tuition costs last year by over 40%.  As a result, our next guest has been selected for a national steering committee whose goal is to encourage all independent colleges to reexamine their business models.

Mike Switzer interviews Betsy Fleming, President of Converse College in Spartanburg, a member of the Council of Independent Colleges.

You've probably heard about the internationally-acclaimed arts and crafts school in the small North Carolina mountain village of Penland.  But what you may not realize is how big its infuence is on the art scene in the Palmetto State.  Now, for the first time, an exhibition is being held in Columbia to help fund scholarships for Penland's work-study scholarship program.

Pages