© 2024 South Carolina Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Forests of Noise at the Columbia Museum of Art

Greg Stuart (left) and Michael Pisaro-Liu (right)
Greg Stuart (left) and Michael Pisaro-Liu (right)

Musicians from the University of South Carolina's Wind Ensemble and Experimental Music Workshop are set to sonically transform the museum for the premiere of a "poetic recreation of natural environments" by composer Michael Pisaro-Liu.

In this Sonatas & Soundscapes interview that aired Wednesday, November 29th, host Bradley Fuller speaks with composer Michael Pisaro-Liu and percussionist and USC music professor Greg Stuart. Pisaro-Liu and Stuart give insights into Pisaro-Liu’s work fields have ears (11): forests of noise, being premiered tonight at the Columbia Museum of Art by 55 musicians as part of the museum's Baker & Baker series. Performers include Stuart as solo percussionist, as well as the USC Wind Ensemble (directed by Cormac Cannon) and Experimental Music Workshop (directed by Stuart).

The Columbia Museum of Art and University of South Carolina School of Music are financial supporters of South Carolina Public Radio.

Stay Connected
Originally from Greenwood, SC, Bradley Fuller has maintained a deep interest in classical music since the age of six. With piano lessons throughout grade school and involvement in marching and concert bands on the saxophone, Bradley further developed musical abilities as well as an appreciation for the importance of arts education.